Origin: Strömstad, Sweden
Style: Black / death metal
Status: Active


Dissection was formed in 1989 by guitarist/vocalist Jon Nödveidt and bass player Peter Palmdahl. Earlier they played in a thrash metal band called Siren´s Yell, a band existing between 1987 and 1989. They started writing songs and in the spring of 1990 drummer Ole Öhman joined the band. In 1990 they released their first demo called "The Grief Prophecy" and a little later they signed a deal with the French Corpsegrinder Records to release a 7" EP called "Into Infinite Obscurity" in 1991. In the beginning of 1992 they recorded their second demo called "The Somberlain" which helped them sign a one album deal with Swedish No Fashion Records. They now recorded their debut album called "The Somberlain" like the demo. Because of delays and label problems it wasn´t released until December 1993. The album was engineered by famous musician/producer Dan Swanö and it was dedicated to Euronymous of Mayhem, a good friend of the band. The guy who ran No Fashion had signed too many bands and therefore he got himself into financial problems and delays. About the same time that the debut album was released he sold the company to the major Swedish metal distributor House Of Kicks. House Of Kicks didn´t give the album any promotion at all but still about 8000 copies were sold.
In 1995 guitarist John Zweetslot had to leave the band which was a big setback since he was an important song-writer. He was getting lazy and didn´t bother coming to the rehearsals so there was no other way to go. John almost immediately started a new band called Cardinal Sin together with former members of the Swedish black metal band Marduk. The new guitarist was Johan Norman, a long time friend of the band. In October 1998 German major label Nuclear Blast signed Johan Norman's new band Reaper, later renamed Soulreaper.
In early January 2006 it was announced that the band were going to release their new album "Reinkaos" through their own label Black Horizon Music.
Jon Nödtveidt 1989- Guitars, vocals   
Sethlans (Davide Totaro) 2004- Guitars   
Tomas Asklund 2004- Drums   
Former Members
Peter Palmdahl 1989-1997 Bass   
Ole Öhman 1990-1995 Drums   
John Zwetsloot 1990-1995 Guitars   
Johan Norman  1995-1998 Guitars   
Tobias Kjellgren 1995-1998 Drums   
Brice Leclercq 2004-2005 Bass   
Haakon Forwald 2005-2005 Bass   
Additional Musicians
Mattias "Mäbe" Johansson Guitars Session member 1989-1990.  
IT (Tony Särkkä) Vocals On Storm.  
Legion (Erik Hagstedt) Vocals On Storm.  
Emil Nödtveidt Bass On tour 1997.  
1990 The Grief Prophecy (demo) No label 
1991 Into Infinite Obscurity (EP) Corpsegrinder 
1992 The Somberlain (demo) No label 
1993 The Somberlain No Fashion 
1995 Storm Of The Light's Bane Nuclear Blast 
1996 Where Dead Angels Lie (EP) Nuclear Blast 
1997 The Past Is Alive Necropolis 
2003 Live Legacy (live) Nuclear Blast 
2004 Maha Kali (EP) Escapi Music 
2006 Reinkaos Black Horizon Music 
  Heute waren schon 71758 Besucher (335313 Hits) hier!  
=> Willst du auch eine kostenlose Homepage? Dann klicke hier! <=